Cherishing Life’s Interruptions

“The great thing, if one can, is to stop regarding all the unpleasant things as interruptions of one’s ‘own,’ or ‘real’ life.  The truth is of course that what one calls the interruptions are precisely one’s real life—the life God is sending one day by day; what one calls one’s ‘real life’ is a phantom of one’s own imagination.  This at least is what I see at moments of insight: but it’s hard to remember it all the time.”  C. S. Lewis

Saturday mornings.  Remember when you were a kid?  Saturday mornings were hands-down the best time during the week.  No school!  Cartoons!  A slow-paced move towards the day.  I thought Saturday mornings would always be that wonderful.  Even after I became an adult I still looked forward to Saturday mornings with the same anticipation I had as a child.  That anticipation was fueled by a hope that nothing would come between me and a leisurely Saturday morning.

Then there was Katy.  My precious little girl.  As soon as she was old enough to sleep in a big-girl bed, Saturday mornings frequently began the same way.  I would wake up to tiny, two-year-old fingers pushing my eyelids open. “Mommy, wake up (insert a lot of whining), I’m hungry!”  Yes, it was cute.  Yes, it drove me crazy.  In that moment, my hope for sleeping in was gone.  I would drag myself out of bed and get breakfast for my baby-girl blessing, having faith that eventually she would allow me to sleep in on Saturday mornings.

I agree with C. S. Lewis.  Sometimes it’s hard to always remember that these “interruptions” to the life I  imagine are actually the life God has given me.  As I grow older I view interruptions much differently than I did as a young parent.  Much more often I see those interruptions as opportunities.  Maybe that’s why there is such joy in being a grandma.  Last Saturday I got a text from Katy that read, “This morning Trenton peeled my eyelids open and said, ‘Wake up Mommy.'”  Then she added, “You’re welcome!”

God, send us more interruptions!  Make us stop in our tracks and say, “Is that you, Father?”  May we be so in tune with what you are doing in our REAL lives that we are here and now in this moment, cherishing the tiny fingers and looking for the opportunities you give us to serve you.

Leave a Reply

