Seeing the Beauty

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

 In our backyard there is a maple tree.  It’s not a huge tree, but decent-sized, large enough to offer some shade on a hot day.  A few years ago, I asked Michael to build a flower box around the tree so we could plant some flowers.  He built a simple box and bought some mixed flower seeds.  Now, my husband isn’t a gardener.  I’m not sure if he’s ever grown a plant in his life.  The flower seeds ended up spread out on top of the dirt.  Yes, dirt…no soil.  Yes, on top…no digging and planting.  I tried to say something but realized he wasn’t going to back down on this.  He believed they would grow.  After a couple of weeks, something did start to sprout.  Weeds.  But Michael was insistent that flowers were growing.  What do we have now?  Really tall weeds that have white “flowers” on top.

 I have laughed to myself a few times over this.  Then I gained a different perspective.

 We drove out to Coley Bunch Nursery to pick out some plants and flowers for our front yard.  One of the owners was very helpful, pointing out the flowers that would grow best in our yard, explaining how tall they would grow, etc…  As we were walking through the many flowers, there was this tall, flowering weed.  It looked an awful lot like the weeds growing under our maple tree!  Of course, Michael immediately saw this and began asking questions about it.  The owner shared the name of it, Queen Anne’s Lace, and then Michael asked THE question:  Is it a flower or a weed?  “Well,” the man explained, “it’s a weed.  But remember that one man’s weed is another man’s flower.”

I’ve thought a lot about that statement.  Do I allow the weeds to define my thoughts?  Do I tend to view the negative instead of the positive?  Do I neglect to see the beauty in things and circumstances because I’m too caught up in what went wrong?  I don’t trust people.  I expect bad things to happen.  I assume people don’t like me.  I even see weeds instead of flowers!  It’s time to replace my negative thoughts with the positive words of God!

 Today, I will focus on seeing what someone does right instead of what he does wrong.  I will spend more time thinking about the good in my circumstance instead of the bad.  I will see the value of the rain instead of my ruined plans.  Lord, help me gain a different perspective

!Image

Leave a Reply

