While You’re Waiting

“But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.”

                            Isaiah 40:31

From the moment I found out I was pregnant, my life was changed.  I was focused on preparing for my baby.  I worked to take care of myself.  I decorated the nursery and got clothes, diapers, a bed…everything I needed to care for my child. But I’ve got to say, it seemed like a long wait.  Especially the last few weeks!

Do you ever feel like you spend a lot of time waiting?  In line at the grocery store. At the drive-thru at McDonald’s.  Waiting for a phone call.  Waiting for your spouse to get ready. (Okay, he waits for me most of the time!) In the doctor’s office they even call it “The Waiting Room.”

One study says that people spend an average of 6 months of their lives just waiting in lines.

Christians frequently express their faith by saying, “I’m waiting on the Lord.”  But we often say this with a heavy heart.  Because, really, if we’re honest, it’s hard to wait.

BUT….

If we understand Isaiah 40:31, we might see waiting a bit differently.

Isaiah 40:31 is a promise.  It begins with a condition. “Those who wait upon the Lord…” will receive the promise.

In Hebrew, the word wait from Isaiah 40:31 is considered an active verb by many scholars.  The idea is that I am waiting expectantly, eagerly watching. Picture a waiter, prepared for service, notebook and pencil in hand, waiting by the restaurant door, expecting a customer at any second.  The opposite of that, passively waiting, might look like this:  A waiter, reluctantly goes into the restaurant, lays his notebook and his uniform on a back table and sits down.  He’ll get up if a customer comes in.

Wait expectantly!!!

Just like when I was pregnant all those years ago. Never once during the waiting did I forget that baby. I was eager to see his face and hold him in my arms.  He was on the way. I was EXPECTING!

“Lord, help us to focus on you during our times of waiting.  May we wait eagerly, with expectation!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

